top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Lopez

Vail Lake Challenge



I arrived at the venue on Friday excited and ready to race. I couldn’t wait to get back in the starting line and make up for the race that didn’t go so well last weekend. I hoped that I could pull off another win and keep the leaders jersey. That night we set up camp and sat around the campfire with my teammates, trying to hide our nerves. On Saturday morning we pre rode the course and messed around all day with water balloons, mini golf, and marshmallows by the campfire.



Coach Jason and Coach BrIan called a team meeting where they gave us our new SoCal DEVO kits and a pre-race pep talk. Almost everyone on the team had someone to work with during their race but me, because I was only girl on the team in JV. When Sunday came I put on my new SoCal DEVO bibs along with my leaders jersey and waited for the race.



I watched a few of my teammates and then lined up in the starting line with first call up. I was especially nervous with the crazy heat, dust, and wind. When the horn sounded we raced out of the starting line and I felt great.



I stayed behind first place for a little while until I felt that I had enough in me to pass for first and make a possible gap. Second place hung on to my wheel for a little up ambulance climb, but I pedaled harder and managed to drop her going into the single track. Through tunnel of love, I was able to make an even bigger gap because I knew the course so well after training here several times with SoCal DEVO.



Throughout the rest of the race the gap got bigger and bigger, and I was leading by almost a minute. Towards the end, the gap decreased to about 30 seconds, because I had slowed down a little bit thinking that there was no way they would catch up. I finished the race with a huge smile on my face and my teammates to congratulate me.



I rode over to coach Jason and he gave me a huge hug. I’m so greatful to be a part of his team and truly could not have done it without him.



A huge thank you to my parents, coaches, teammates, and all of my sponsors that got me to where I am. I’m more than happy to finish with another win and can’t wait to race against these fast girls again!!



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page